killoego.blogg.se

Windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history
Windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history




windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history
  1. Windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history upgrade#
  2. Windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history windows#

They also supported you if you tried to use Windows ME. Remember, Microsoft supports you if you do this, they never recommend that you be so foolish, though. This indicates that he's not really clear thinking or sensible - not things you want in someone touching your servers. If this is an argument, he would rail an interview for an internship in any respectable shop. Microsoft supports many fragile, non-best practices. Why would it cause instability? What risk, if it's supported by Microsoft? What's so bad about your server build that you can't clean up without a fresh install?Īh, maybe you need a boss who has worked in IT. PS: the issue we're having, I'm going to open a separate question about that I'm not looking to answer that problem with this post, just want to see if anyone thinks this could contribute to that at all. So, am I wrong here and should follow what he's saying? Or am I right, and if so, what arguments should I be bringing to him?

windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history

Windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history upgrade#

I believe that doing that is asking for all manner of trouble, and I don't trust the upgrade process, especially for something as critical as our primary DC. He believes that is unnecessary extra work and that I should just do an in place upgrade. I don't think it's critical, and I don't think it could possibly contribute to this issue.Ģ) What I want to do is build a new master DC and migrate the roles and services over to that, then decommission that server. Our disagreements are 2 fold at this time:ġ) He thinks it's more critical that I upgrade it at this time, since he believes it may be contributing to an issue where people can't access their mapped network drives properly (domain-based dfs references aren't working for some people, so rather than \\\dfs\Departments, we want to use \\\dfs\Departments, but it doesn't work for some people.gpupdate /force and reboot seems to fix them temporarily). I've wanted to replace it with 2008 R2 for a while, but I've left it on the back burner for now as it's not a critical issue.

windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history

It is also our primary DC with the FSMO roles assigned to it, and it is running our WSUS. Basically, I just have my intuition and feelings to go on rather than hard fact.Īll of our domain controllers are Server 2008 R2 save 1 (well, 2 if you count the one new 2012, but that's not the point of the question), which is on Server 2008 (SP2, 圆4). Okay, so, I have a bit of a disagreement with my boss, and I'm feeling inadequately prepared to counter his points other than "it's just better my way".






Windows server 2008 r2 sp2 update history